Back to School Information

DeSoto ISD is excited to reconnect with students, families and staff this upcoming school year. The first day of school for the 2022-2023 school year will be Monday, August 15, 2022. Below is a list of resources to help prepare for the 22-23 academic year:

2022 2022


PK-2nd Grades: 7:45 A.M. - 3:35 P.M.
3rd-5th Grades: 8 A.M. - 3:50 P.M.
Middle School: 8:30 A.M. - 4:20 P.M.
High School: 7:30 A.M. - 3:20 P.M.
Katherine Johnson: 8 A.M. - 3:50 PM
Ruby Young: 8:30 A.M. - 4:20 P.M.


Seventh- through twelfth-graders are eligible to participate in University Interscholastic League (UIL) competitive athletics. All students must have physicals, parental acknowledgment forms, and emergency information on file before the first practice. 


All DeSoto ISD students are expected to follow the guidelines of student behavior as outlined in the DeSoto ISD Student Code of Conduct. Update coming soon.


In the event or inclement weather, DeSoto ISD officials will notify the media prior to 6 a.m. on the day in question. In addition, the district utilizes a parent alert system to call and/or e-mail all DeSoto ISD families.

Campus Contact Information

Cockrell Hill Elementary School (PK-2)
Principal: Cathye Smith 
425 S. Cockrell Hill Rd., DeSoto, TX 75115
Phone: 972-230-1692

Woodridge Elementary School (PK-2)
Principal: Demitree Tatum
1001 Woodridge, DeSoto, TX 75115
Phone: 972-223-3800

Frank Moates Elementary School (3-5)
Principal: Angela Robinson
1500 Heritage Blvd., Glenn Heights, TX 75154
Phone: 972-230-2881

The Meadows Elementary School (3-5)
Principal: Dina Jammer
1016 The Meadows Pkwy., DeSoto TX 75115
Phone: 972-224-0960

Katherine Johnson Technology Magnet Academy

Principal: Dr. Michelle Neely
1200 Academy Way, DeSoto, TX 75115
Phone: (972) 274-8026

Ruby Young Elementary School (3-8)
Principal: Monica Smith
707 Young Blvd., DeSoto, TX 75115
Phone: 972-223-6505

Curtistene S. McCowan Middle School 
Principal: Dr. Kelli McWashington
1500 Majestic Meadows Dr., Glenn Heights, TX 75154
Phone: 972-274-8090

West Middle School
Principal: Metric Manning
800 N. Westmoreland Rd., DeSoto, TX 75115
Phone: 972-230-1820

DeSoto High School
Principal: Jasen Campbell
600 Eagle Dr., DeSoto, TX 75115
Phone: 972-230-0726

Alternative Education Program
Principal: Homer Webb III
204 E. Belt Line Rd., DeSoto, TX 75115
Phone: 972-223-2242