DeSoto ISD Celebrates Its Trustees

DeSoto ISD Honors Trustees During School Board Recognition Month
Posted on 01/09/2023
This is the image for the news article titled DeSoto ISD Honors Trustees During School Board Recognition Month

 January is School Board Recognition Month in the state of Texas and the DeSoto Independent School District is joining the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) and other school communities in the annual celebration of its Board of Trustees for their dedication and commitment to increasing student achievement throughout the district. 

The 2023 theme is Forward Together, which highlights the collaboration among school leadership, teachers, and parents on behalf of students. In DeSoto ISD, it is understood that it takes all stakeholders to be fully engaged in the work of the district to improve student outcomes.

“Our school board trustees are key to ensuring that our students achieve and grow to their highest levels not just upon graduation but each day throughout the school year. The decisions made during the board meetings, the student progress monitoring sessions, their presence in the district and the community all impact our ability to offer the best educational experience for our students,” said Dr. Usamah Rodgers, DeSoto ISD superintendent of schools. “During this month, it is extremely important that we pause to recognize their diligent and intentional efforts to make our district a success.” 

The DeSoto ISD School Board has made continual steps forward as a governing body and all campuses and district leaders will acknowledge their progress with tokens of appreciation and a celebration campaigns throughout the month of January to highlight their efforts to better our school community.

Dan Troxell, executive director of the Texas Association of School Boards, applauded the efforts of trustees in providing leadership and good governance so that school districts can focus on educating the 5.4 million public school children in their care. 

“Texas school boards are critical to the success of students and the future of Texas,” Troxell said. “Boards lead their districts in the right direction, providing oversight, setting goals, overseeing the budget, and selecting and evaluating the superintendent. These volunteers serve for the betterment of their local schools and communities.”

DeSoto ISD has benefitted from the boards’ goals and constraints established in 2020 and have made some measurable academic gains. Most notably, the district rebounded from a D-rating in 2018 to a C-rating in 2019 and a B-rating in 2022 according to the most recent Texas Education Agency report released during the fall semester.

Additionally, the district increased its financial FIRST rating and is remaining diligent in the work of post-secondary readiness with the renewed focus on improving college, career and military readiness, cross curricular STEM education, early childhood education, and immersive dual language programs and much more. 

The district Fine Arts and Athletic programs are making history. Programs include high-performing and highly decorated band programs, dance, visual arts, theater, and nationally- and internally- traveled choir led by two-time Grammy-nominated Director Pam Dawson. The DeSoto High School Volleyball team completed their second consecutive playoff run in program history. The DHS girls basketball team won back-to-back state championships and the boys' basketball entered post-season play. Most recently, the DeSoto High School Eagles football team won the UIL State Championship for 6A-Division II and a host of other successes which place district students at the forefront of accomplishment among their peers.
During this month, DeSoto ISD pauses to applaud the work of the DeSoto ISD trustees to help students continually excel.


The DeSoto ISD 2022-2023 Board of Trustees

Dr. DeAndrea Fleming - Place 6, Board President

Traci McNairy - Place 7, Vice President, TASB Alternate Delegate

Chasiti McKissic - Place 2, Secretary, TASB Delegate

Cynthia Watson-Banks - Place 1, Trustee

Karen Daniel - Place 3, Trustee

Dr. Tiffany Clark - Place 4, Trustee

Abe Cooper, Jr. - Place 5, Trustee